Powerplay Philippine Dota 2 Invitational increases its prize pool, updates team list


The qualifiers for the Powerplay Philippine Dota 2 Invitational kick off this weekend with new teams, a new format, a bigger prize pool, and an in-game ticket.

A recent announcement on the PowerPlay Facebook page introduced three more participating teams—Interactive Philippines, Click And Search, and Pinoy favorite Gigabyte.Mineski. The roster for Interactive Philippines and Click And Search follow the teams’ last reshuffle is as follows:

Interactive Philippines

Kimuel “Kimo” Borromeo Rodis
Ralph Richard “rr” Penano
Jef “Foxx” Fortunato
Abeng “Abeng” Jersy
Earlwin “Ewe” Libre

Click and Search

Julius “Julz” de leon
Joven “Jhoven” Pancho
Hiroshi “RaRa” Iimura

(See: Competitive Pinoy Dota 2: why the frequent roster changes have to stop)

Powerplay Philippine originally planned on having eight invited teams to be joined by the top two teams from the qualifiers. Thanks to the addition of Gigabyte.Mineski, the tournament now has nine invited teams and will take the top three teams from the qualifiers

The tournament will also have an additional PhP 10,000 ($229.25) on top of its original PhP 50,000 ($1146.25) prize pool, and will now have the following distribution:

1st place – PhP 30,000 ($687.75)
2nd place – PhP 15,000 ($343.88)
3rd place – PhP 7,000 ($160.47)
4th place – PhP 7,000 ($160.47)

In-game tickets can be purchased for $1.45 in the Dota 2 store. You can also watch the games for free via Dota Talk’s English livestream here.

Tournament details, schedules, and groups can be found here.

Other eSports events to look forward to:

[news post_id=164189]

(And yes, we're serious about ethics and transparency. More information here.)

Read More